Apple Galettes……

I found this recipe on the amazing blog portuguesegirlcooks.com The author of the blog Jessica has some insanely fantastic recipes (all of which I would love to make….all right now 😉

Anyhow, I changed just a couple of minor details for mine….you can find the original recipe on her blog, but I will only be typing my recipe here.applegalettes (16)

The  above photo is my finished result….amazing, right?!

What I first did was peel, core and thinly slice the apples. I used Granny Smith, but when apple season arrives here (in the Autumn) we do our annual apple picking as a family and I make sure to buy Jonathan and Jonagold apples, a mix of these with Granny Smith is pretty awesome stuffapplegalletesapplegalletes (2)

Here is a pretty good idea on how thin the slices should be.

Two large apples were perfect for 4 galettes (which is how many I made)

After slicing these bad boys, I mixed

2 tablespoons brown sugar

applegalletes (3)

3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon, a sidenote, I used Saigon cinnamon, bolder, spicier….Im a cinnamon girl…..you should also try vanilla cinnamon

applegalletes (4)

1 teaspoon of cornstarch

applegalletes (5)

1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice

applegalletes (6)

Mix these together and make sure you coat the apples well so each can absorb that spicy sweet taste.

applegalletes (7)

Now for the dough….I cheated folks, I flat out cheated…..I did not use homemade pie crust GASP! Shocker I know, but it turns out when you buy refrigerated pie crust it is super easy to measure and such, but I plan on doing a post on homemade pie crust and why people are so afraid to make it….possibly because there are many to choose from…I dont really know….so here is my crust

applegalletes (8)

You need 4 flat circles, so I unrolled each crust, cut in half which then formed 2 half circles. Roll each half circle into there own ball of dough

applegalletes (9)

Find a rolling pin, which apparently is now my 13 month olds toy, and flatten the dough out until it is about 1/8 inch thick

applegalletes (10)

your flat disk of dough does not need to be perfect and if needed use a tad bit of all purpose flour if your disk is sticking to the surface or rolling pin

Here comes the fun part…add the mixture of apples to the center of each disk, making sure to leave a 1 inch border to the edges for easier sealing

applegalletes (11)

seal up the sides of the dough and pinch the seams to make sure everything is secure

applegalletes (12)

And do you see the juices left in the bowl where the apples and spices were married?? Please do yourself a favor and pour it on the tops of the apples…you will be glad you did 😉  To bake these make sure you line a cookie sheet with PARCHMENT PAPER, not waxed….easier cleanup, your welcome 😉 You must make an egg wash too….1 egg with 1 tablespoon of water, mix them both together very well and brush the sides of the dough with it and then sprinkle on some coarse sugar for a delightful golden brown crust with a sweet crunch. Bake at 400 for about 27-33 minutes, sketchy times I know, but the weird times always create the best baked goods.

Now for the sauce…..Yes there is a sauce and must be made, why? Because there is whiskey in it of course (and caramel too)

applegalletes (13)

Here is another way I cheated….I did not use my outstanding homemade caramel for this one, but had some caramel unwrapped chews on hand, so used these instead….24 to be exact.

Add 2 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream and 1 tablespoon of bourbon to a small saucepan….I used Wild Turkey Kentucky Bourbon.

Bring to a STEAM in the saucepan, not boiling, over medium-low heat. Add the caramels A N D to sweeten the deal, add about 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt (NOT table salt)

applegalletes (15)

Stir constantly until smooth and pour   drizzle the warm heavenly sauce over the galettes ……I know it’s temtping but try to refrain from licking the caramel out of the saucepan, its hot. I also added just a smidge more of sea salt over the finished result

applegalletes (17)

applegalletes (18)

This dessert was absolutely perfect…a rustic treat with warm cinnamon covered apples, a flaky golden crust and sweet caramel bourbon sauce with the warmth of sea salt. It was pure magic….This would be ideal to use with pears too….

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Apple Galettes……

  1. Oh Ashley, I am so glad I visited you tonight, we over here call them apple purses but yours calls for some yummy-ness! I must try.
    I feel like making them right now get lack some of the ingredients it calls for…( the Kentucky bourbon) :))

    I will let you know how they turned out for me, keep baking your heart out, it’s awfully inspiring!!

    See you soon dear 🙂

    Xoxo
    Dore

Leave a Reply

